Home Mayor & Council Administration Boards Commissions Departments Emergency Services Recreation Links Community

Mayor & Council


site search by freefind

Borough Council Member Biographies

The offices of the Mayor and Council are located at the Municipal Complex:
419 Sycamore Avenue
P. O. Box 7420
Shrewsbury NJ 07702
Telephone: (732) 741-4200
Fax: (732) 741-6549

Reorganization meeting Mayor’s comments 2014

Since 1926, the elected officials of the Borough of Shrewsbury come together yearly to swear in our new officials, approve appointments to various commissions, boards and committees, authorize the hiring of professional service providers, and generally establish a frame work for the effective operations of Shrewsbury for 2014.


Before moving on to the agenda items for tonight’s reorganization meeting, allow me to highlight some of the major events of this past year. more...


2012 Mayor and Council: (back row): Peter Meyer,

Tom Menapace, Mike DeNofa, Bill Dodge;

(front row): Jeff DeSalvo, Mayor Burden, Tony Pellegrino


Mayor Donald W. Burden

(732) 741-4200, x107

Email:  clerk@shrewsburyboro.com

Term Expires: 12/31/14


Liaison, Board of Health


Council President William Dodge

(732) 741-4200, x107

Term Expires: 12/31/14


Chairman, Police

Liaison, Municipal Court

Member, Finance & Grants

Member, Insurance & Benefits

Member, Communication

Member, Audit


Councilman Michael DeNofa

(732) 741-4200, x107

Term Expires: 12/31/14


Chairman, DPW, Buildings & Grounds Utilities & Engineering

Liaison, Shade Tree

Member, Fire & First Aid

Member, Personnel

Member, Police

Member, Open Space

Member, Audit


Councilman Anthony Pellegrino

(732) 741-4200, x107

Term Expires: 12/31/15


Chairman, Finance & Grants

Chairman, Insurance & Benefits

Chairman, Audit

Liaison, Local Emergency Planning

Liaison, COAH

Liaison, Shrewsbury Community Garden

Member, Negotiating

Member, Open Space


Councilman Peter Meyer

(732) 741-4200, x107

Term Expires: 12/31/16


Chairman, Negotiating

Liaison, Recreation

Member, Finance & Grants

Member, Police


Councilman Jeff DeSalvo

(732) 741-4200, x107

Term Expires: 12/31/15


Chairman, Fire & First Aid

Chairman, Communication

Liaison, Community Alliance

Member, Personnel

Member, DPW, Buildings & Grounds, Utilities & Engineering

Member, Negotiating


Councilwoman Deidre DerAsadourian

(732) 741-4200, x107

Term Expires:  12/31/16


Chairman: Personnel

Chairman: Open Space

Liaison: Shrewsbury Board of Education

Liaison: Red Bank Regional Board of Education

Liaison: Planning Board

Liaison: Memorial Day

Member: Insurance & Benefits

Member: Fire & First Aid

Member: DPW, Buildings & Grounds, Utilities & Engineering

Member: Communication

Council Meetings are held in the Municipal Complex meeting room at 7:00 P.M. on the first and third Monday of each month; except when a Monday is a holiday then the meeting is held on Tuesday. Additionally, in compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act, a portion of every meeting with four or more members of the governing body present is set aside for public participation.

The annual Reorganization Meeting shall be held on Monday, January 6, 2014 at 7:00 pm.  Please note that the Borough Council will hold only one meeting in the months of July and August.


2014 Council Meeting Dates:

January 6, 2014    

January 21 (Due to Martin Luther King Day)

February 3

February 18 (Due to Presidents Day)

March 3

March 17                

April 7

April 21

May 5

May 19

June 2

June 16

July 21

August 18 

September 2 (Due to Labor Day)

September 15

October 6

October 20

November 3 (the regular council meeting will begin at 5:00 pm)

November 17 (the regular council meeting will begin at 5:30 pm)

December 1

December 15





Site design by WebPrezence as a community service